Continuing Education Registration Information
Four Easy Ways to Register
1. Online NEW!
Go to www.worwic.edu/instantenrollment for more information and instructions.
You must pay in full with a credit card at the time of registration.
Online registration is not available for the following courses:
- Course requiring documentation, testing, or additional information (includes many
health care courses)
- Commercial Truck Driving
- Developmental English/ESL
- Gifted and Talented Courses for Youth - Summer Scholars
- Online (Ed2Go) - visit
and follow instructions
- 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday–checks, credit cards, money orders and cash (exact
change preferred) accepted on campus in Fulton-Owen Hall (formerly the Workforce Development Center), Room 102.
- Registrations will be taken on a space-available basis at the first class session. (Checks, credit cards and money orders only. No cash will be accepted.)
4. Fax (410) 334-2952
- Fax your registration form
24 hours a day 7 days a week with your charge card information (Visa, MasterCard, or Discover).
Residents of Wicomico, Worcester and Somerset counties pay the tuition shown after each course
description. Residents of other Maryland counties pay the tuition plus $10 and residents of other states pay
the tuition plus $15. Additional fees are also indicated for certain courses; they cover various costs such as
materials, lab fees, insurance, etc. Tuition and fees must be paid at the time of registration. The college
reserves the right to cancel courses, make changes in any course due to unforeseen circumstances and
change tuition rates without prior notice. The college is not responsible for typographical errors.
Payment Plans and Tuition Waivers
Deferred Payment: a payment plan is available for certain courses
for a $20 deferment fee when the tuition is more than $100. Not available for all
courses. Call (410) 334-2815 for more information.
If you are a Maryland resident who is 60 years of age or older at the time of registration
and who enrolls in any continuing education course that has at least 10 regularly-enrolled
students or is being continued with less than 10 students, you do not have to pay
tuition for regular open enrollment courses. Write “SR” in the tuition box. Pay
the fees where indicated in the course information. Out-of-county fees are not applicable
for Maryland seniors.
Out-of-state (non-Maryland) senior residents
1. For non-“seniors only” open enrollment courses, pay the $15 out-of-state fee,
which should be added to the course tuition plus any other fees, where indicated.
2. For "seniors only" courses, call (410) 334-2815 for the tuition cost; pay the
tuition plus any other course fees.
Tuition, not including fees, for workforce development courses is waived for Maryland
residents who are disabled as defined by the Social Security or Railroad Retirement
Act. Students must complete a waiver application, which is valid for one year. Tuition
waiver forms are available in the counseling office, AAB 109.
Employer Billed Tuition and Fees
Advance payments by company check are welcomed from employers who pay for their
employees' tuition and fees at the time of registration. The college can also directly
bill a company. Mail or fax to (410) 334-2952 the completed registration form with
a purchase order or letter of authorization on company letterhead. Include the employee's
name, course number and title, total amount for tuition and fees, billing address
and signature of the person authorizing payment. The college does not bill in order
to reimburse students who have paid their own tuition. Upon receipt of the authorization
and registration form(s), the regular refund/withdrawal policy applies and the invoice
will reflect the prorated balance due when appropriate.
All requests for refunds must be received in writing in our office prior to the
first day of class. A 100 percent refund will be issued up to the day before the
course start date. If a course is filled or canceled, a full refund will be sent
by mail in approximately three weeks. Special exceptions are noted in the course
descriptions. No refund will be given on or after the course start date.
You are automatically registered when the college receives your registration form
and payment unless the course is already filled. You will not receive written confirmation
so please attend your course at its scheduled time.
How to Buy Your Books
Wor-Wic Community College is aware of the high cost of college textbooks. Our instructors
endeavor to select reasonably priced texts that provide currency, relevance and
the most effective presentation of course content. The bookstore will post textbook
information on worwic.bncollege.com as soon as possible prior to the start of
the course. Students are encouraged to purchase textbooks from the college's bookstore.
However, used or new textbooks can also be purchased from other bookstores or online
Textbooks can be purchased at Wor-Wic’s bookstore,
32000 Campus Drive
in the Hazel Center on campus. Please ask for your book by course title and number. Checks for books should be made payable to Wor-Wic’s bookstore. If your course has a required text, please bring your book to the first class session. The
letter code after "Text Required" or "Text Optional" in the course information indicates an estimated price range only, not
including sales tax:
|Code A: Up to $25
||Code D: $76-$99
|Code B: $26-$50
||Code E: $100-$150
|Code C: $51-$75
||Code F: $151 and over
Please ask for your book at the bookstore by course title and number.
Bookstore regular hours: Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday–8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m., Tuesday–8:30 a.m.-7:00
p.m., and Friday–8:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m. Visit worwic.bncollege.com for
changes to regular hours of operation that occur throughout the term. Call the bookstore at (410) 341-2802 if you have questions.
Opened shrink-wrapped books are not returnable.
Your email address may be used to communicate cancellation or other information
about courses for which you have registered. You may also contact us or “opt in”
on the registration form to receive other course and continuing education updates
periodically throughout the year. You have the choice to “opt out” of these updates
at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link within the email message. The college
does not sell, trade or otherwise transfer to outside parties your personally identifiable
information. If you change your email address, please contact the continuing education
division to update your information.
Safety and Security
The college strives to provide students and employees with a learning and working
environment that is safe and secure, free from substance abuse, sex offenses and
other crimes. Policies and procedures are developed to meet this goal and to comply
with federal, state and local laws that govern the conduct of students and employees
at college facilities or at college-sponsored events. An annual security report
is available to all current and prospective students and employees on the college’s
website at www.worwic.edu/AnnSecRpt.pdf
or a copy can be obtained by contacting the plant management office at (410) 334-2932.
This report contains policies and procedures regarding campus security, alcohol
and drug use, safety and crime prevention tips, crime reporting procedures and crime
Services for Disabled Students
Wor-Wic provides reasonable accommodations for students with disabilities in compliance with the Disabilities
Act of 1990 and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Students requesting these services must
submit medical and/or educational documentation to the Director of Counseling at least four weeks before
the start of session so that eligibility can be determined and the appropriate accommodations can be made.
Smoking & Tobacco Use Policy
Smoking/tobacco use, including smokeless tobacco, electronic cigarettes and other
nicotine products, is permitted on campus only in designated parking lot areas that
are at least 25 feet from any building. Smoking/tobacco use is not permitted in
the lot in front of the Academic and Administrative Building (AAB). Verbal warnings
can be delivered by public safety officers, as well as other employees at the college.
Repeat offenders or those who refuse to comply with verbal warnings can be issued
a citation. Violations of the smoking/tobacco use policy carry a $20 fine and are
delivered on a public safety citation form. Students with unpaid fines cannot obtain
grades or transcripts, register for classes or participate in commencement. Smoking/tobacco
use in “no smoking/tobacco use” areas is also a violation of student conduct regulations
and is subject to further disciplinary action. A copy of the entire smoking/tobacco
use policy can be obtained at the college information desk.
Cancellation announcements are made on most local radio and television stations.
Announcements are made by 8:00 a.m. for day classes and 5:00 p.m. for night classes.
Wor-Wic also uses e2Campus, a Web-based universal notification system, to send college
closing announcements and security alerts to individuals who sign up for this free
service. Go to www.worwic.edu/e2campus to
sign up. If your Wor-Wic continuing education and workforce development course is
scheduled in a public school and that school is closed because of bad weather, your
course will not meet. If your course is held at an off-campus location other than
a public school, please listen to the radio or check www.worwic.edu for information
about cancellation. For courses at Worcester senior centers, call (410) 632-1277
after 6:30 a.m. for information regarding possible closings. When classes are not
canceled, students are responsible for making their own decisions based on their
judgment of local road conditions.
Student-To-Student Scholarship Contribution
Last year, the need for student financial aid exceeded the dollars available. If
every student gives just $1 to our student-to-student scholarship program, Wor-Wic
will have $10,000 to award to students with financial need. Wor-Wic Community College
is a 501(c)(3) organization and contributions are tax-deductible as allowed by law.
Add your contribution to the total on your registration form.
Other Continuing Education Policies and Procedures
Documents of recognition for attendance and participation are awarded for selected
non-credit courses. Specific requirements for the successful completion of each
course are announced at the first class session. Tests are not given in most courses.
However, certain licensure and certification courses may require testing, evaluation
of skills and the completion of assignments. It is the student's responsibility
to clarify the requirements.
All students in continuing education and workforce development courses must be 16
years of age and adhere to college policies and procedures. For a copy of the college's
student disciplinary and academic grievance procedures, call (410) 334-2815.
The college will be closed April 18-20, May 26 and July 4, 2014. Other exceptions are indicated in the course listings.
If requests are made by an employer or prospective employer for course-related information,
including courses and dates for which you are registered, record of completion and
other similar data, you can refuse to permit the release of some of this information
by notifying the continuing education and workforce development division no later
than the end of the first week of class.
Wor-Wic accepts foreign nationals who can provide sufficient evidence of their residence
and legal status to be in the U.S. during their enrollment.