Skip Navigation LinksHome : Pay For College : Financial and Payment Information
 Rate this page

Financial Information

For Financial Aid and Scholarships information, please refer to the Financial Aid and Scholarships page under the Student Services section. Questions may be emailed to us at financialaid@worwic.edu.

Tuition Rates

The college reserves the right to change tuition rates without prior notice.

Fall 2015
(Per Credit Hour)
In County $103.00
Out-of-County $231.00
Out-of-State $284.00

The in-county rate applies to residents of Worcester, Wicomico and Somerset counties. The out-of-county rate applies to Maryland residents who live outside of Worcester, Wicomico and Somerset counties. The out-of-state rate applies to residents of any state other than Maryland. Non-U.S. citizens who meet the requirements of the Maryland Dream Act can pay in-state tuition rates. Go to www.worwic.edu/MarylandDreamAct for eligibility information.

Residency Requirements

At the time of admission or whenever a student reports a change in student information, he or she must confirm his or her domicile for tuition classification purposes. As used here, “domicile” is defined as “a student’s permanent place of abode, where physical presence and possessions are maintained with the intention of remaining indefinitely” or “the permanent place of abode of any person or persons contributing more than one-half of the student’s financial support during the most recently-completed year.” To establish domicile, an individual must permanently reside in the state or in the county for three months prior to the beginning of the term. However, in some cases, this does not automatically guarantee domicile status and supporting evidence of residency may be required in the form of income tax papers, driver’s license, vehicle registration, insurance policies, voter’s registration, rent receipts and/or other requested information.

Tuition Waivers

Tuition (not including fees) is waived for Maryland residents who are 60 years old or older or who are retired as a result of a disability as defined by the Social Security or Railroad Retirement Act, who enroll in any credit class that has at least 10, or is being continued with less than 10, regularly-enrolled students. Members of the Maryland National Guard who have two or more years of service remaining are eligible for a 50 percent tuition waiver. Appropriate documentation for a Maryland National Guard waiver must be presented each term. In order to receive a tuition waiver based on retirement due to a disability, the student must provide appropriate documentation from the Social Security Administration. In order to receive a tuition waiver based on disability, students must submit documentation of the disability and apply for federal financial aid annually. The disability waiver is applied only when the financial aid awarded to the student does not fully cover tuition charges. The senior citizen tuition waivers are provided on a space-available basis. In order to qualify for a senior citizen tuition waiver, the student must provide proof that his or her 60th birthday has occurred prior to the first class session. Tuition waiver forms are available in the counseling office.

Dual Enrollment

The College and Career Readiness and College Completion Act of 2013 offers qualified dual enrollment students discounts for tuition. Public high school students who qualify for free and reduced meals (FARM) can enroll in Wor-Wic fall and spring term classes tuition-free, only having to pay for books and fees, while those who do not qualify for FARM pay 90 percent of the 75 percent tuition rate.

Students attending any Worcester, Wicomico or Somerset public high school, the Salisbury School, Salisbury Christian School or Holly Grove Christian School, as well as Delmar High School students who live in Maryland, can provide certification by a high school official that they meet the school’s dual enrollment eligibility requirements to receive a discount on the regular tuition rate.

Fees

The college reserves the right to change fees without prior notice.

Technology Fee (per credit hour) $15
Student Government Association Fee (per credit hour) $2
Payment Plan Fee $20
Late Payment Fee $25
Returned Check Fee $20
Student ID Replacement Fee $2
Proficiency Examination Fee $35 and up
Course Fees variable

Payment Procedures

Wor-Wic accepts cash, checks, money orders, VISA, MasterCard, Discover and American Express. Payment can be made online, in person at the cashier’s office in Room 108 of Brunkhorst Hall or by mail to: Cashier’s Office, Wor-Wic Community College, 32000 Campus Dr., Salisbury, MD 21804. Checks, which must include the student’s college ID number, should be made payable to Wor-Wic Community College.

Students whose tuition is being paid by a third party, such as an employer, must provide a letter from the third party guaranteeing payment to the cashier by the payment deadline for the registration term or upon registering, if after the payment deadline.

Students can view an itemized list of charges, payments and financial aid awards that have been applied to their accounts by accessing the myWor-Wic portal. Students who have not made full payment, enrolled in a payment plan, provided third-party payment documentation or received confirmation of a completed financial aid award by the stated payment deadline for the registration term will have their registrations dropped the day after the payment deadline.

Students who register after the payment deadline must make full payment, enroll in a payment plan or provide third-party payment documentation at the time of registration.

Students interested in obtaining more information about the payment procedures should address their inquiries to:

Cashier’s Office*
Wor-Wic Community College
32000 Campus Drive
Salisbury, MD 21804
Phone: 410-334-2923 or 410-334-2924
Email: cashier@worwic.edu

*The cashier’s office is open during regular office hours Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Payments are accepted at the college information desk in Brunkhorst Hall on Monday and Thursday evenings from 4:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. and Saturdays from 8 a.m. to noon.

Payment Plans

Interest-free payment plans are available to all credit students who register for at least three credit hours. Students must make a down payment and pay the $20 payment plan fee at the time of registration. Students who register for classes online have the option to enroll in a payment plan as part of the online registration process. Students who register in person can visit the cashier’s office to enroll. Depending on the student’s payment plan enrollment date, students can select a plan with additional monthly payments due before the end of the term.

Monthly payment due dates can be viewed online at the myWor-Wic portal. Students can use any of the payment methods specified under the Pay Your Tuition link to make monthly payments. Students who do not make a monthly payment within seven days of the payment due date are charged a $25 late payment fee. Students who have not paid in full before the end of the term cannot obtain grades or transcripts, register for classes or participate in commencement until full payment is made. Dropping or withdrawing from a course does not eliminate the student’s financial obligations to the college.

Third-Party Payments

Students whose tuition is being paid by a third party, such as an employer, must provide a letter from the third party guaranteeing payment to the cashier by the payment due date.

  • The letter must be written on company letterhead and include the student’s name and college ID number, course number and title, total amount of tuition and fees, billing address and signature of the person authorizing payment. The bookstore is an independent entity from the college and must receive a separate authorization letter if the third-party agrees to pay for books and/or supplies.
  • In the event that the third-party refuses to pay after receipt of an invoice, the student is responsible for all tuition and fees.

Delinquent Accounts

Students who have delinquent accounts with the college, the bookstore or the libraries at Salisbury University or the University of Maryland Eastern Shore cannot obtain grades or transcripts, register for classes or participate in commencement. Past due tuition balances are forwarded to the State of Maryland’s Central Collection Unit (CCU). A 17% collection fee is added to all debts referred to the CCU.

Refunds

Refunds are provided only to students who complete the drop process. Students who are eligible for online registration can complete the drop process online, while those who are not eligible for online registration must meet with their advisor. Refunds are calculated based on the days the college is open for business (Monday through Saturday, excluding holidays). All tuition and fees are refunded to students who complete the drop process within the following time frames:

Duration of Course
(in weeks)
Refund Calculation
(days following the start of the class section)
8-14 5
4-7 3
1-3 2

*Refunds for classes that are scheduled to start after the listed “last day to add” for a semester or session are 100% through the second day of class.

Veterans Benefits

In addition to the standard student services offered by the college, veterans and their eligible dependents can receive added assistance from the regional office of the Veterans Administration (VA). The tuition and fees of veterans and their eligible dependents approved for the Post 9-11 GI-Bill and veterans approved for vocational rehabilitation programs are paid directly to the college by the VA. Since educational benefits for other veteran programs are paid directly to the student, students are directly responsible to the college for the payment of their tuition and fees. Wor-Wic complies with Sections 701 and 702 of the Veterans Access, Choice and Accountability Act of 2014. The college recognizes and adheres to VA standards and strives to assist veterans as much as possible in resolving discrepancies that relate to educational programming.

Education Tax Credits

American Opportunity Credit/Hope and lifetime learning tax credits are available to eligible students under federal legislation. The American Opportunity Credit/Hope enables students to receive a tax credit of up to $2,500 per year for four years of postsecondary education. The lifetime learning tax credit is available for an unlimited number of years for up to $2,000 each year. The business office sends 1098-T tuition statements to students by Jan. 31 each year.

Rate this web page