Wor-Wic to offer new driver education course
November 11, 2014

The continuing education and workforce development division at Wor-Wic Community College is offering a new driver education class beginning Dec. 1.

The course has been made possible, in part, by a donation from the Pohanka Automotive Group of Salisbury. Pohanka recently donated two cars to be used in the behind-the-wheel class sessions. Sandy Fitzgerald-Angello, vice president and dealer operator, joined other community leaders at a recent meeting who expressed a concern that one of the economic development and job opportunity issues in our community is the number of local residents without driver’s licenses. The course was developed to help local residents who can’t afford the cost of the driver education course that is required by the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).

Ruth E. Baker, dean of continuing education and workforce development, said that Wor-Wic is the only area driver education provider to offer financial aid. “According to our research,” she said, “there are no financial assistance programs at any of the driver education schools in Somerset, Wicomico or Worcester counties.”

Baker explained that “financial aid is offered on a sliding scale. Depending on financial need, students could be eligible for $50 to $250 in tuition assistance. Those who don’t meet financial aid eligibility requirements will pay $300, which is the market rate charged by other local providers.”

Maryland law states that new drivers are not eligible for a license until they complete a driver education course approved by the MVA. The course provides students with 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind-the-wheel training.

Classroom size is limited to 30 students. Behind-the-wheel training is one-on-one with an instructor. The course schedule is designed to meet the needs of adults, as well as traditional-age driver education students, with classes scheduled during day, evening and weekend hours.

Students must have a valid Maryland learner’s permit before starting class. Students under 18 years old at the time of registration must have a parent/mentor attend the first class session as part of the course orientation process. Students seeking financial aid must apply by Nov. 17.

For more information, call Wor-Wic’s continuing education division at (410) 334-2815.