Wor-Wic board awards 10 scholarships
October 31, 2017

The board of trustees at Wor-Wic Community College recently awarded scholarships to 10 local high school graduates.

This year’s scholarship recipients include Jessica Collins of Mardela Middle and High School, Kaitlyn Custer of Stephen Decatur High School, Dana Heath of Delmar Middle and Senior High School, Brooke Knight of Snow Hill High School, Mitchell Krystofiak of Pocomoke High School, Noah Lawson of Wicomico High School, Bethany Peterson of Parkside High School, Nicholas Price of Washington High School, Kayla Shiderly of Salisbury Christian School, and Maria Vieyra-Becerril of Crisfield High School and Academy.

The board of trustees provides a two-year full-tuition scholarship for the most academically-talented high school senior applicant from each of the 10 public high schools and two of the four private high schools in Wicomico, Worcester and Somerset counties.

In order to qualify for the scholarship, applicants must have at least a 3.25 GPA on an unweighted 4.0 scale. They must also apply for admission to Wor-Wic before April 1 of their senior year in high school, as well as complete a board of trustees scholarship application form.

The scholarships are awarded to the applicant with the highest GPA from each school, followed by the highest total number of credits earned and the earliest admission application. Recipients must maintain a 3.0 GPA.

High school students interested in more information about the scholarship should call the college’s financial aid office at 410-334-2905.