Board of trustees honors Boggs
November 14, 2017

After 30 years of dedicated service as a member of the board of trustees of Wor-Wic Community College, D. Gary Boggs of Salisbury recently retired from the board.

Boggs’ association with the college actually goes back 40 years (only two years after the founding of the college), and includes time as a student and faculty member in addition to membership and leadership roles on college committees in Wor-Wic’s formative years.

As president of Oliphant Chevrolet in Salisbury, Boggs started serving on the college’s automotive program advisory committee in 1977, continuing that service for 10 years, including six of those years as chair. In 1979, he became a member of the college’s local advisory council and served as chair for seven years. Between 1979 and 1982, Boggs taught automotive and business math courses for the college. He joined the board of trustees in 1987 and served as chair for four years, from 1989-1991 and again from 2006- 2008. Boggs also took credit and non-credit courses at the college between 1996 and 2014.

Boggs promoted the college and the benefits of higher education in his personal life, as well as in his membership in community groups, such as the Wicomico County Vocational Education Advisory Board, Salisbury-Wicomico Economic Development, the Greater Salisbury Committee, the Maryland Apprenticeship and Training Council, the Salisbury Area Chamber of Commerce and the Salisbury Jaycees.

“He devoted himself to furthering education and the standard of living for all residents of the Lower Eastern Shore,” said Dr. Ray Hoy, president of Wor-Wic. “His untiring efforts on behalf of Wor-Wic improved the quality of life for area residents and established a firm foundation for the continued growth of the college.”

Other members of Wor-Wic’s board of trustees are Martin T. Neat of Salisbury, chairperson, Russell W. Blake of Pocomoke City, vice chairperson, Andrew W. Booth, Kimberly C. Gillis and Morgan Hazel of Salisbury, William H. Kerbin of Pocomoke City and Lorraine Purnell-Ayers of Snow Hill.

BOGGS PRESENTATION. D. Gary Boggs center, outgoing member of the Wor-Wic Community College board of trustees, receives a board of trustees resolution from Dr. Ray Hoy, left, college president, and Martin T. Neat, board chair.