Chautauqua 2008 “Civil Rights: Taking a Stand”
July 24, 2008

Chautauqua 2008 “Civil Rights: Taking a Stand” coordinators from Wor-Wic Community College, Dornell L. Woolford, far left, evening and weekend administrator, and Dr. Diane W. Lesser, dean of general education, are pictured with Dr. Faye Wilson, who started the evening with a gospel music performance, and Bill Grimmette, who portrayed Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Dr. Stephen L. Capelli, center, vice president for academic and student affairs at Wor-Wic, is pictured with Phoebe Stein Davis, left, executive director of the Maryland Humanities Council (MHC), and Judy Dobbs, MHC program officer. MHC sponsored Chautauqua 2008 with support from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Maryland Division of Historical and Cultural Programs.

Several members of the Gentlemen’s Club of Princess Anne attended Chautauqua 2008 at Wor-Wic. Pictured in the front row with members Tywan Johnson, far left, and Kevin Ward, far right, are club founder, Curtis Alston, and mentors, Burke Minns and Ray Grant. In the back row, from left, are Markeith Miller, Darron White, DeAntre Minns, Eric Jeter, Shamar Dodson and Zaire Thomas.

In attendance at Chautauqua 2008 at Wor-Wic were, from left, Dr. Clara Small from Salisbury University, Lee Whaley representing U.S. Sen. Benjamin L. Cardin, Catherine Handy of Laurel, Del., and Sandra Titus of Delmar, Md.

Members of Wor-Wic’s honors program, from left, Cassandra Dasher of Salisbury, Cranston Cox of Crisfield, Allison Pilat of Berlin and Dr. Elinor Phillips Cubbage, honors program director and professor of English, are pictured selling refreshments at Chautauqua 2008.